Anyone who is stopped on Nevada roadways and charged with DUI or DWI is facing potentially serious consequences. Not only do you have to suffer the embarrassment of an arrest, you will need to schedule a hearing with the DMV as quickly as possible to avoid losing your license for at least 90 days and you will have to spend time defending yourself against the charges. When you are arrested, your best option is to contact a Clark County DUI attorney immediately upon your arrest.
Attorney Christopher Jones warns of the consequences of DUI/DWI – 1st Offense
Many believe that a first DUI offense is not a big deal. However, the consequences you face under Nevada law are very serious and should never be taken lightly. Assuming you have no prior convictions for DUI/DWI, a first offense could result in the following punishments and penalties:
- Imprisonment – you could be facing a minimum of 48 hours and up to six months of jail time. The Court has the option to impose community service in lieu of prison time.
- Financial penalties – the Court will impose the minimum fine of $400 plus court costs up to the maximum fine of $1,000 plus court costs.
- Driving rights – a guilty finding will result in a loss of driving rights for a minimum of 90 days. Even limited driving, to and from work, cannot be granted for a period of 45 days after a guilty finding.
- Other sanctions – every court will order a defendant to pay for and attend an educational course on the abuse of alcohol and controlled substances which not only takes time but costs money. They may also order you to install an ignition locking device once you are allowed to drive again.
A strong DUI/DWI defense matters
There are many ways to defend against a drunk driving incident including questioning field sobriety test results. In most cases, this will be the best possible defense. As your attorney, our responsibility is to rigorously defend you. This means being persuasive, and when needed, creative as necessary to have the charges against you dismissed.
Breathalyzer tests are notoriously faulty and may provide a law enforcement officer with a false positive. These results can occur for a number of reasons including:
- Poor machine maintenance – If a breathalyzer machine is not properly maintained, the chances of it giving a false reading are significantly higher than well-maintained equipment.
- Poor or improper training in use – Let’s face it, budget shortfalls often mean cutting corners. Police departments may not have the manpower or expertise to properly train all officers on the proper use of breathalyzer equipment.
- Calibration is touchy – Unless the equipment is properly calibrated, the risk of a bad reading is higher. Each system also has a margin of error which must be factored in.
At the Law Office of Christopher Jones, my commitment is to ensure you get the rigorous defense you deserve. I will do everything in my power and use my knowledge of the law to prevent you from being convicted on DUI/DWI charges.